#Osun Decides: PDP Candidate, Adeleke Defeats Governor Oyetola In Government House Polling Unit


Senator Ademola Adeleke, the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Saturday secured more votes than Governor Adegboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC) inside the Government House polling unit in Osogbo, the state capital of Osun State.
While the PDP candidate garnered 117 votes, Oyetola trailed with 106 at Agowande/Osogbo GRA/ Governor’s office polling unit in the Olorunda Local Government Area.

Other parties and their scores are; Accord Party 2, APM 1, PRP 1 and SDP 1.
The 2022 Osun governorship election, according to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), is taking place in all the 30 local government areas of the state with 3,763 polling units and 332 registration areas.
The 15 political parties’ candidates participating in the election include: Mr Oyegoke Omigbodun, Social Democratic Party (SDP); Dr Akin Ogunbiyi (Accord); Mr Yusuf Lasun (Labour Party); Munirudeen Atanda (Action Democratic Party).
More voters are expected to participate in the election than the 2018 poll when 767,444 electorates out of the 1,668,524 registered voters exercised their franchise.
In 2018, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Oyetola as winner, having polled 255,505 votes against Adeleke, who had 255,023 votes at the end of a supplementary election, which held in seven polling units across four local governments amidst allegations of harassment and other forms of malpractice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here