When does O’Sullivan begin European Masters title bid?

When does O’Sullivan begin European Masters title bid?

Ronnie O’Sullivan will begin his quest for a first European Masters title against world No. 101 Sean O’Sullivan on the tournament’s opening day.

The world champion faces his namesake in a best-of-nine frame opener in the German city of Furth at 7pm on Tuesday 16 August (BST) LIVE on Eurosport.

London professional Sean O’Sullivan regained his tour card after a three-year absence via the WPBSA Q Tour Rankings.

European Masters

White bridges astonishing 47-year gap with 322nd century break


The 2020 European Masters champion Mark Selby starts out at the same time against talented Chinese player Yuan Sijun.

Defending champion Fan Zhengyi – who defeated O’Sullivan 10-9 in last season’s final in Milton Keynes – begins his title defence against Michael Judge earlier in the day at 10am (BST).

The last of the qualifying fixtures held over to the Stadthalle venue will see world No. 2 Judd Trump meet Crucible qualifier Noppon Saengkham at 2:30pm.

Three-time world champion Mark Williams begins his campaign in the last 64 against Sanderson Lam at 7pm (BST) on Wednesday 17 August.

‘He can’t let him go!’ – O’Sullivan embraces Trump after winning seventh title

  • O’Sullivan moves further ahead as world No. 1
  • White makes 133 break to set up win over Pagett in European Masters qualifying

Qualifying for the season’s second ranking event was staged by Leicester’s Morningside Arena between 15-24 July with John Higgins losing 5-3 to fellow Scot Scott Donaldson. in a sizable upset.

The tournament runs between Tuesday 16 August with the final on Sunday 21 August.

All matches are the best-of-nine frames with the semi-finals contested over the best of 11 frames before a best-of-17 of frame final.

European Masters winners

  • 2016/17 Judd Trump (Eng) 9-8 Ronnie O’Sullivan (Eng) – Bucharest, Romania
  • 2017/18 Judd Trump (Eng) 9-7 Stuart Bingham (Eng) – Lommel, Belgium
  • 2018/19 Jimmy Robertson (Eng) 9-6 Joe Perry (Eng) – Lommel, Belgium
  • 2019/20 Neil Robertson (Aus) 9-0 Zhou Yuelong (Chn) – Dornbirn, Austria
  • 2020/21 Mark Selby (Eng) 9-8 Martin Gould (Eng) – Milton Keynes, England
  • 2021/22 Fan Zhengyi (Chn) 10-9 Ronnie O’Sullivan (Eng) – Milton Keynes, England

European Masters

O’Sullivan moves further ahead as world No. 1

31/07/2022 AT 08:39

Championship League

‘I feel fantastic’ – Brecel claims third ranking title with Championship League glory

29/07/2022 AT 21:42

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here